Sandra Izbasa: Prosport interview

Foto : GSP

Our colleagues from fangymnastics translated the interview with Sandra from Prosport. You can read it below:

Sandra, what are your goals for 2009?

My goals for 2009…well, first I need to get my driving license, second I have the baccalaureate exam and third, I have the World Championships. They are not in this order as importance, but they are planned like this on months. After I get my driving license I am going to focus on studying and then, in October, there are the Worlds.

How is it going with preparing according with the new code of points?

Pretty well…I am starting to work on the bars, the floor exercise I find pretty easy, I can say that now I don’t have 5 diagonals anymore, only 4, but with higher difficulty. The same goes for the beam, I need to increase the starting value, while the vault will remain the same.

The only title that you miss is the world title. Are you nervous about that, are you already preparing mentally for the Worlds or you take everything step by step, first the Europeans and then…?

Exactly, I’m first going to participate in the Europeans, warm up, see where I stand. Nervous I’ll be everywhere, but I won’t go there with the thought that I’m missing the World title, because I could have said that also at the Olympics, that I want very much the Olympic title and that I’m nervous. I didn’t want to get to the other extreme and I preferred to do my exercise, the one which I have rehearsed thousand of times before presenting it in the Olympic final. Of course, at the Worlds it will be different, because I really wish to win, but, if it doesn’t happen this year, maybe it will happen next year, the Worlds are every year, not like the Olympics.

Do you feel a bigger pressure because you are Olympic champion and you go there with a reputation and people are waiting from you to do your best and to get on the podium no matter your condition?

I cannot say it’s a bigger pressure…it is a reputation earned, which needs to be kept at a high level, I don’t want to make a fool of myself….because it took a lot of work to win this title, so I’ll try to keep it.

Which is the goal for the Europeans? How do you see this competition, with which thought will you go there? Do you want an AA title, event titles?

All-around, of course, I really would like, because it is the title I have worked for so many years, but so far it hasn’t meant to be. Now it is a priority for me because, after the Olympics, many gymnasts have retired, the code has changed, and it is a bit more difficult. I have the capacity of changing my exercises very fast and a medal on AA is not everybody’s achievement. And, of course, two finals: beam and floor.

One Response

  1. […] Sandra Izbasa: Prosport interview « Sandra Izbasa – Olympic FloorSandra, what are your goals for 2009? … Sandra Izbasa competes 3 events — Gymnastics Coaching.com on Nationalele Romaniei – Prima zi … Yay!!! Izbasa to Compete Against Great Britain… […]

Leave a Reply

